A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The study illustrates important results where children in the suburban United States have higher number incidents of tooth decay as compared to children at Himalayan mountain region. The study seems plausible to some extent but fails to answer some questions which could undermine it and must have been overlooked.

The primary factor is, availability of dental care in both places, being a mountain region there is almost no professional care in Himalayan regions, while suburban regions of America do have it in plenty. This makes it easier to identify how many children on average have tooth decay in the America as all children have adequate access to one dental clinic, albeit the Himalayan children who may be suffering from tooth decay may have never reached the clinics at all, thus giving such low numbers.

The next major factor which remains neglected - are all those children who are visiting dental clinics have tooth decay? The children who have easy access to dental care may simply be availing their facilities for regular check-ups, this may not guarantee that the children were having tooth decay. The children residing in the Himalayas may not be having the facilities at all so the average number of visits are bound to be lower. Therefore the average estimate made by the study fails to support the final judgment.

Finally, we need more information on the social economic and living conditions of the two places. Are the food-eating habits of the children the two places the same? Children who eat chocolates or soda often has higher risks of tooth decay. Does a child have enough economic support to visit dental clinics in the first place? For example, parents do not find it necessary to visit the dentists, simply because they find no harm in avoiding the visits as they any way drain their pockets. This puts a question is the medical facilities provided in the two regions equitable in terms of cost? Higher the dental expenses, lower would be the number of patient visits.

Therefore we cannot conclude the dental care has had no benefit to the children of suburban regions. Had the conditions been the same for children in both regions, the study would not have been unconscionable.