If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic raises a controversial issue that two applicants are equally qualified for a job then the job should go to the applicant with more experience. Indisputably, it’s true that experience plays a major role in defining the apt position of the candidate for that job but it is not the only criteria which should be considered while recruiting for an exacting job.

Merely looking at the qualifications of the candidate for a job position covers only the technical aspects of it. For example – academic qualifications, certification on certain courses, proper training etc. However, a company requires much more than that. The most efficient candidate for the position would be the one who along with all the qualifications have the passion and interest for that particular field. Who is promising enough to bring considerable change in that area with their out of the box thinking and profundity. And experience is not an effective scale to measure it.

For example, India’s youngest billionaire, the founder of Oyo started off with zero experience in this completely new concept and the graph of the company’s growth has been higher the ever. He had this idea in mind which he believed that bring a considerable change and is a great business idea. Similarly many startups has been flourishing on the ground of new and impactful ideas which doesn’t really require a stamp of qualification as an assurance for its success

The factors apart from qualification that holds equal importance are efficiency, interest in that particular field, creativity, productivity and most importantly animal spirits. A person with more work experience may not necessarily have all these qualities. In most cases they are routine to certain way of working that they do not make enough space for any improvement and ingenuity. They mainly lack motivation as compared to a fresher who would bring along new ideas that would make significant changes. There’s a reason why HR interviews are conducted for recruitment process.

In conclusion although experience holds a significant position for a certain profile job, it should not be the only criteria to be fulfilled to qualify for a job. The most appropriate candidate would be the one who is overall qualified for the job.