If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how there examples shape your position.

During the hiring processes, human recources departments look for the best candidate for each position. “The best candidate” is selected in the light of crucial factors such as experience, education, references, personal accomplishments and the ultimate choice is made considering each of these factors. If each aspect of both candidates, apart from experience, is tantamount; I think the one to be hired differs according to the demands of the position.

For example, executive positions require skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, decision making in stressful environments, etc. However, mid-tier positions such as specialists are the best for ambitious, compassionate, enthusiastic people who are ready for competition. In this case, I believe, companies might go for the experienced candidate if they think that the position requires it. Furthermore, they should pick the -possibly- younger and more enthusiastic person if they need fresh-blood in the work place.

However, one more thing to keep in mind while recruiting the inexperienced is, the countanence between time and money. Also, the time factor should be considered for the team which is going to be enhanced. What I mean is, if the company is lacking the experienced work force to help the tyros, they surely cannot employ inexperienced people, no matter what the position requires. Moreover, many commercial companies tend to go for the experienced candidate, even though the position does not necessarily need higher level of experience. In most cases this is because they prefer not spend any time with the apprentice and waste the time of the already experienced employee to teach him or her.

The solution to this paradox, is found in summer camps. Many companies like Google, Apple, Amazon, Vodafone and -in Turkey- Vestel, Doğuş Broadcasting, etc. establish “Summer Camps for the Leaders of the Future”. As I mentioned above, especially the executive positions demand experience. However, many companies hire young and inexperienced but enthusiastic people for these positions, with especially monetary apprehensions. During these camps, though they do not provide any stipend for the attainment, the companies select the best participants and offer them germane positions in the company. The vital benefit of these camps is, since the tyros are hired after the training for which the companies paid absolutely nothing, they do not spend almost any time or money for the adjustment process of an inperienced employee.

Even though summer camps seem a bit unfair, since we are talking about tens of people attending a program without earning nothing but little experience, I believe they are an opportunity for the inexperienced people to be hired for higher positions. A company who cannot afford a highly experienced candidate, might be a chance for a young new-graduate looking for a stepping stone. Furthermore, these camps are carrying the role of a mediator in between. They provide the training process which is needed by both the candidate and the company.

As a result, I think that each and every position requires different levels of experience. As I mentioned before, in expecially higher positions, people seriously need to manage their stress level and this is acquired through time. However, for some positions, being eager and willing is more important. That is why I go in between and say, the job should not always go to the experienced applicant.