Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

College and universities are just like a holy ground for the students. It is the place where students get their knowledge, shape their personality, follow their passion for learning and eventually set their dreams and ambitions and work hard to achieve them. Beside the fundamental goal of earning a degree, each and every colleges and universities also try to ensure their students best possible environment for learning. In order to achieve this, colleges and universities, not only focus merely on teaching their students for the sake of obtaining their degree, focus on what we call the extra curricular activities like sports, events and many other social activities. Thus, I agree with the statement that sports and social activities are as equally important as classes and libraries, however the financial support may be provided as per the necessity or requirement.

As I already stated that the college and university are not just a venue for obtaining our respective degree, it is actually more than that. It will often be boring if there would be no such sport events and social activities in the university. The redundancy of the attending classes, preparing assignments, taking the terminals and boards can take toll on almost all of the students. So, these activities and social events actually help to break the redundancy of the tedious and arduous process of learning.

Similarly, these events actually offer a new avenue for the students with special skills to flourish. Take an example of my own experience. I`m actually very passionate about music and I love to sing and play guitar. When I was in undergraduate, our university always used to conduct a social event in last week before our major festive vacation. And, I always used to wait these event with much zeal as I would be able to perform my music in the event. Eventually, my performance was liked by many of the students and I was also known around the college as a popular singer.

Now, coming to the financial support to these events, i feel that these events are actually few in any academic calendar year and may not require more budget than the usual budget required for other academic activities. Given the importance of these events and also the minimum budget required for conducting these events, any universities can easily reap the reward of these particular events, whatever their financial position may be.

To sum up, I personally believe that the sports and social events are as vital to the students for their development as it is with classes and usual education. Thus, colleges and universities need to support these events financially so that the overall development of the students can be ensured and these students obtain favorable environment for learning as well.