Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

In the statement, the speaker asserts that universities should require every student to take a wide range of courses outside their major field of study. In my opinion, even though some disadvantages in the aspect of increased academic stress, the benefits of taking various courses in myriad fields are invaluable compare with its negative effects.

when take a variety of courses in fields that students are not specialized in, first of all, the study time available for them to study their major courses will definitely be greatly reduced. it is undeniable that all universities courses have relatively gigantic workload, especially during exam period. thus, when students are coerced to take numbers of elective courses, their sleep time might be deprived in order to digest the substantial amount of knowledge learned, which probably become a threat to student’s health condition. In some more severe cases, the high pressure due to increased school workload might lead to depression. Only few years before, there was one student who successfully went into one of the top universities in China but unfortunately chose to end his young life in the dorm due to the unmanageable level of stress.

however, the advantages of taking various courses in different fields far outweighs its drawbacks. university should be a place where students are allow to explore different fields and find out what their true interest and life passion are. For example, someone might chose economics as her major in the freshman year. however, she found out that the genetics course that she took as her elective was truly compelling for her and she determined to pursue further knowledge in genetics instead of economics. thus, university’s decision to make elective courses compulsory is beneficial when students are still indecisive about their future career. In addition, it is a great way to promote communications between students and extend students’ social circle. some math students can have an opportunity to become friends with others from engineering department. students studying architecture are able to have discussion with students pursuing biology. These interdisciplinary interactions might ignite extraordinary ideas about how the knowledge from one can be utilize in other academic field. Nowadays, knowledges from sociology, psychology are necessary for politics to form their ideology; detective fiction writers might require backgrounds from history, anatomy to create eye-catching and detailed scenes in the book.

In sum, everything is a double-edged swore and universities should always carefully evaluate their decision towards their academic requirements. Nevertheless, there is an old saying goes, study until you are old. study is an endless road and study more will always widen one’s eyesight and university should provide the chance for students to explore more about our vast world.