governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

The speaker asserts that government should not fund any scientific research whose results are unpredictable. However, in my point of view, this statement is too arbitrary and the circumstances can be disparate for developing countries and developed countries, also for potentially beneficial and harmful researches.

On one hand, there is no deny that developing countries, compare with developed countries, have relatively limited resources, fundings, which means that available money should be spend primarily on things that can contribute to the foreseeable improvement of the country. For example, a great number of the cities in South Africa are confronting with problems such as scarce food, inadequate health facilities, and so on. In a place where people are still struggling to live their live, it is little bit unethical for the government to distribute their money on scientific research with unclear consequences instead of helping the communities with people’s hunger, their unemployment, their well-being. For developed countries, the situation is different since they have less pressing issues that requires money. In my opinion, governments of developed countries should support scientific research even though the consequences are unclear.

On the other hand, the purpose of the research should be examined first no matter for developing or developed countries. For example, if a scientist try to do research on something that might be harmful, things like toxicology, for the general wellbeing of human. then, the government should definitely refuse to provide the fund for it, no matter it is the developing countries’ or developed countries’ government. But if it is something that are potentially beneficial to the future development of the world, such as a certain vaccine that helps to strengthen people’s immune system is absolutely worth funding, then developing countries should rationally distribute a small portion of fund for it whereas developed countries should fully support the research.

In sum, the speaker’s assertion is an over generalization and should consider more comprehensively for various circumstances that might weaken the statement.