Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Scientific research is the backbone of a nation's development, thus government should make wise decisions on which research should get more importance and which should not be based on the country's need. The prompt suggests that the government should not fund any scientific research whose results are not clear. I mostly agree with the prompt and will elucidate my position with three reasons.

Firstly, Government funds come from the tax payer's money, so the government and the researchers are directly accountable for the wise use of those funds. If a particular research outcome is not directly or indirectly benefitting the general public, then it would be unwise for the government to spend that money on such research. For example, India is often criticized for funding it's space program ISRO, as in a country where millions of people are below the poverty line, how one can afford to invest in the space program since that is not directly benefitting the general public.

Secondly, it is highly probable for researchers who get government funds, to use it unwisely and in those places which not directly affecting their research. For example, one gets quite complacent when constant funding is coming, and he may use it on those things that are not relevant to his research, like buying fancy machines, equipment, etc. Thus, the government should also be careful in auditing such research.

Thirdly, the decision whether a research outcome is clear or not should be taken by those who understand that research, rather than some politicians. The government should direct this duty to institutions and universities so that they can clearly identify those research that is worthy of funding. Also, for any young researcher, the guidelines should be given by his superiors or guides to tackle only such problems that are relevant rather than wasting time and money on something that is either not relevant or not worth doing.

In conclusion, the decision whether particular scientific research has any real benefits or not for the nation should be made by the institution rather the government. And the researcher's position should always listen in that matter.