Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support

they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved andgenerated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In the claim, the speaker asserts that government must assure that their major cities receive the financial support they need for their prosperity. however, in my opinion, the claim is irrefutable in several aspects whereas the reasons used for bolster the claim is tenuous.

The reason is biased because it means that other minor cities do not conserve and produce invaluable cultural traditions. there is no deny that the most invaluable architectures such as The great Wall, The Forbidden city are located in the major city of China, Beijing. however, Chengdu is probably unfamiliar to many foreigners but has an extensive amount of historical buildings scattered all over the city and it is a place where people can experience a myriad of traditional foods that worth world-wide attention. In my point of view, it is unjustifiable to ignore that minor cities also have an irreplaceable role in persevering and generating cultural traditions. Thus, government should also provide funds to support the development of those minor cities.

it is absolutely true that major cities are important and worth more attention from the government. there are a number of reasons for it. first of all, a majority of a country’">country’s population is living in the major cities, which results in a glut demand and a scarce supply of jobs also drive up the price for various living necessities; countless people are facing problems such as unemployment, unaffordable rent and so on. Therefore, government should definitely provide a sufficient amount of subsidy to further stimulate the economy in those major cities, and create more job opportunities for people, allow them to have the basic ability to take care of their living. Secondly, major cities serve as the representatives of a country. No matter for presidents, important politicians or famous artists from other countries, when they are visiting a country, their first destination will always be one of the major cities in that country. The main reason is that those cities can potently demonstrate how well this country is developing. Since first impression is important for future corporations between countries in various fields such as politics, art, music, providing support for the development of major cities should be one of government’s primary responsibilities.

In sum, the prosperity of the major cities of a country should be ensured by the government. Not only because those prominent cities are preserving and creating a significant amount cultural traditions, but also due to the fact that the failure and success of those cities associated with the well-being of a great portion of the population and they are reflections of a country’">country’s development.