The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument, the author states that balmer island should limit the number of rentals in order to decrease the moped accidents. To bolster this, the writer cites that island of seaville has significantly reduced the amount of accidents by adopting the same policy. however, the author’s statement is tenuous in several aspects.

The author mentions that mopeds is a popular mean for commute and the population of balmer island increased to 100000 during the summer months. however, one question might be that how can we know the new citizens will also like to use moped as their way of transportation. it is possible that old citizens might have chosen mopeds as their favourite for transportation but their preference is not representative. thus, the increase in population might not affect the number of accident involving mopeds and pedestrians at all, which makes the limitation on rentals during summer feckless. it is also possible that citizens do not usually use mopeds during summer months. Perhaps, they prefer walking during summer times. thus, the limit on number of rentals only during summer month might not effectively reduce the number of accidents.

it is being assert that after the limitation on rentals, the town council of balmer will attain 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents. one might question that what is the base number of accidents? it is possible that the number of accidents varies a lot from year to year. For example, the number might be 100 and fifty percent of that is 50. however, maybe next year, the number jump to 1000 and half of it will be 500. if this is the case, the limitation on rentals is not working well at all. Furthermore, even the number of rentals is reduced, we cannot exclude the possibility that those who use the mopeds are the ones who constantly ignoring the traffic rules, which means that there still exist a high possibility that accidents will occur. Therefore, a 50 percent reduction in accidents cannot be guaranteed.

What’s more, the author states that the neighbouring island of seaville successfully reduced their frequency of accidents last year by limiting the number of moped rentals. Nevertheless, a question should be considered: are seaville and balmer island comparable to each other? it is possible that, there are no other illegal companies who rent moped in seaville whereas in balmer, since moped is so popular, many mongers rent or sell moped in black market to make some money. it is also possible that for the purpose of increase the moped and pedestrians’ safety, seaville not only reduced the number of moped rentals but also implemented harsh punishment on violation of traffic regulations such as an extremely high fine will be charge if one exceed the speed limit. thus, a more deep and thorough research considering the similarities and differences between these two places should be conduct before making a conclusion.

In sum, the author’s argument is logically flawed and the evidences use to support the argument are also unreliable and unjustifiable on several grounds. To strength the argument, questions about the frequency of moped use in each season, the feasibility of a 50 percent annual reduction in number of accidents also the comparability between balmer and seaville should be more carefully assessed.