Title: Super Screen Movies

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the statement, the speaker asserts that super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. To bolster this, the speaker cites that fewer people attended the super screen-produced movies while percentage of positive reviews about the movies increased. however, the argument is tenous in several aspects.

By comparing the percentage of postive reviews, the speaker comes to the conclusion that there is no problem with their movie's quality. however, one might ask that: what is the base number for the moviw viewers? it is possible that two years ago, there were 1000 viewers, and 500 of them gave positive comments about the movie whereas last year there were only 100 viewers and 80 of them gave postive reviews. In other words, the comparison the precentage of good reviews between each year does not provide any indication about the quality of the movie because the base number is missing.

Another question could be is the report reliable? Since it is a report created by the marketing department of super screen movie Production company, we cannot exclude the possibility that the one might benefit from hiding the truth. it is possible that once the company allocate more money to advertising, which is part of maketing department's job, the department leader might use the money for other personal purposes. it is also possible that they only asked the opinions from a part of the audience, and perhaps the ones they did not ask are mostly holding negative views about the movie. Thus, the report result might be representative for the attitudes of general public.

The speaker suggests the company to spend more money on advertising of the moives next year. Nevertheless, a question might rise: how can we be sure that this solution will lead surely lead to an increased number of audience? it is possible that some other factors that make people less desirable to watch their movies. perhaps, the company always produce movies with the same theme; or perhaps, the movies are only avaliable at a cinema that is so far away from where the majority of people live.

Thus, no conclusion should be made before answering the question about the actual reason why a reduced amount of people attend their movie.

In sum, the speaker is logically flawed and the evidences used to support the argument are also groundless. To strengthen it, the speaker must consider the questions about the validity of the data from the report and the actual causes for their loss of movie viewers.