Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

In the argument, it asserts that an appealing image has become increasingly significant than the reality or truth behind that image. In my point of view, however, while the appearance might be more important in short term, in the long term, it is not true because only those with meaningful contents behind their outer covers and those that can genuinely bring benefits to society will last and cherish by people.

In short term, there is no deny that whether a product has an appealing image is the prior determinants of whether people are going buy it or not. Companies selling cosmetic products usually spend a great amount of money on packaging and advertisement in order to attract more buyers, which is a reasonable action because there is no way that consumers can see the actual effectiveness of the product after one glance. Thus, those with most compelling descriptions of its function and decent packaging will generate high popularity and large consumer base in short term. Another example could be JingMing Guo, who is a famous Chinese fiction writer. In the past, he published a number of fictions that gained him a huge fan base. While the quality of his recent works has significantly regressed, the sales of those were still high. This situation is also justifiable because his fans simply cannot control their impulsiveness to spend money on things written by Jingming Guo regardless of the quality of his works.

On the contrary, in the long term, people care less about appearance. One Hundred Years of Solitary is a book which remained its high reputation and significance even after so many years of its publish. Since the book involved lots of the writer’s deep emotions and also because of its permanent theme, it is always on the top of readers’ recommendation list. Who would want things that are educational and positively impactful to be neglect? For election in every field, candidates might use appealing but unattainable promises to obtain more votes. Nevertheless, the supports for a leader are only temporary if the leader consistently compromise on his or her promises. For example, a politics who purport to increase the welfare of citizens but didn’t improve the situation at all in long term will eventually engender people’s dissatisfaction and face dismissal from his position. In other words, time works as a filter, where things that are bootless but with attractive appearance will eventually fade out from people’s sight.

In sum, the assertion is too arbitrary and should consider that in long term, image has only minor importance compare with the reality or truth behind that image.