"Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain

The modern society is replete with smiling and gregarious people ubiquitously. If we take a close look on the society and its people, we can get confused with one question. Is the society’s overall look really represents reality and people’s true image? The answer is unfortunately no. People create appealing image in the society and it has become more important than representing the reality or truth behind that image.

We can see this pattern a lot in the real world in variety of people. For example, lets consider politicians. All we see in a politician’s rallys or meetings is their smiling face and the policies they rife as their goal for the nation. The question is about the uprightness of the gesture they make in public. If we watch closer, we can see a huge difference in their real personality and the public personality. Just because they talk about the nation’s growth and their goals to achieve it, doesn’t mean that they want it personally. Politics is like any other jobs, politicians do their job by this kind of appealing image. Because this image is most important in the present society to attract people than the reality behind that image.

Another great example for the dual, we can consider the celebrities life. People are so interested in the celebrities lifestyle, their outfits, their relationship status and their ups and downs. People judge them based on these things. Since these things affects their career as a famous actor/actress/writer/journalist/photographer, celebrities tend to create and maintain an appealing image in the society rather than potraying their real image.

Not only the famous people need to do this but also the common people. In day-to-day life, a commoner also needs to create an appealing image than the reality. The workplace, the friends-zone and social gatherings expects a commoner to portray himself/herself with charm and gregarious manner. This kind of expectation has been unfortunately developed among the people. People may end up being artificial all the time at social gathering and may loose theirselves in the process.

Having set of decorums about presenting oneself in public is a good principle. Even though, it becomes more alarming when the expectations crossing a bar. Considering a person’s appealing image and not paying enough attention to the reality behind that image is not good for the society in long-term.