Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

In this argument, the author asserts that the construction of new generating plants will not be necessary. To bolster this point of view, the author cites that the home owners have desire to be more energy conservative, and recent home appliances has become more energy efficient than those in the past, as well as that new technologies are available to reduce energy need. however, this argument is tenuous in various aspects.

By stating the result of the recent surveys pointing out home owners’ eager to conserve energy, the author unjustifiably assume that the total demand for energy will not increase. however, there is possibility that those owners will not physically take actions to save energy. Even those owners who took the survey are actually saving energy, we don’t know that if those owners are representative. it is possible that the survey only taken place in a small city of a country, which means that we have no idea about the rest of the home owner’s attitudes towards reducing energy usage. thus, the author should conduct a more deep and thorough research before making the conclusion that new power plant is not need.

In the assertion, the author equates the availability of more energy efficient appliances and new technologies with constant energy usage. however, this assumption is dubious. it is possible that those high-tech products are a lot more expensive than the standard ones, thus the majority of the owners are not willing to spend extra money to purchase them. it is also possible that when people are aware that those appliances are energy efficient, there will be a more frequent use, or a household will buy several of them. thus, we cannot be assured that the energy consumption is definitely going to decrease. before consider about the possible unaffordable prices of those advanced technology and a subsequent more extensive energy usage, the author’s suggestion is unsubstantiated.

The author also unfairly assume that the three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years will consistently meet our needs in the future. however, the author fails to account for the possibility that there will be a rise in number of residence or a skyrocketing number of industries, which means a possible increase in energy demand that old energy plants are no longer able to support. also, it is entirely possible that the three existing energy plants are less energy efficient than a new one, thus implementing a new plant may be a lot more beneficial compare with insisting on the old ones. Therefore, without ruling out the possibilities, the construction of new power plants should not be denied.

In sum, the author’s recommendation relies on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing. To strengthen it, the author should have a more careful consideration regarding to home owners’ energy usage, the effect of new technology on energy consumption, and the future energy needs.