The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette it is stated that putting certain limits to mopeds rental will result in a reduction in moped accidents in the Balmer Island. The author has come to this conclusion based on a similar policy applied in Torseau Island have reduced these kind of accidents. However, in order to decide if the prediction is reasonable, three questions should be answered.

Firt of all, Why the knew limit of 30 mopeds to be rented is an accurate number. The author is relying in this "magic" number because he thinks that could work, but what if the real useful number is lower. For instance, 30 mopeds rented could be a large number if the Island's streets are narrow and the drivers do not have so much space to to travel. Moreover, perhaps the tourists who rent this mopeds are not responsable drivers. In this case, 30 mopeds would be as dangerous as 50. The author needs to explain why this number its accurate, because if a lower number was the "solution", the argument would be weakened.

Secondly, the next question Are the Balmer Island and the Torseus enough similar to establish an analogy. The author says that since this limitation worked in Torseus, it will also work in Balmer just because they are neighborhods. But this is not necessarily true. For instances, in Torseus the driving laws could be harder than those in Balmer. Or maybe, the rental companies in Torseus only rent mopeds to people who has passed a driving test. If this was the case, the analogy is weak, and also the prediction.

Thirdly, the last question is Will this limit attract the same amount of tourists? The author does not say anything about the impact of this policy. Perhaps, tourists feel attract to Balmer Island because the can rent many mopeds without several controls. With this policy, the amount of tourism could be reduced. Moreover, this tourist could change mopeds by cars, making the problem of accidents even worse. If this limitation reduce implied a change in the tourists preferences, the accident would occured, making the prediction not sound.

To conclude, the prediction, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance in several unstated assumptions. If the author answered these three questions mentioned above and provided a research study, then his or her predition would be better evaluated.