The following appeared as part of a recommendation from the financial planning office to the administration of Fern Valley University.

"In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The author's argument of that it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable them to expand the range of subjects they teach and to increase the size of their library facilities is flawed. The author is assuming that the reasons for the decline in both enrollments and admissions applications are just due to infrastruture, such the library, in addition to poor teaching. However, there could be more reasons. Moreover, the author is only concern with the survey done inside the University. In what follows, I will explain the flaws found in his argument.

To begin, many reasons could explain the decrease in enrollments and admissions applications. Even when the University quality could have been reduced in the last years, the author must find about another explanations. For instance, there could be an increase in competition. If more universities have open over the last years with better infrastructure and better teaching quality, is natural to have a reduction in enrollments.

In addition, the author is only seeing the opinions inside of the University. According to the recomendation, he says that the reasons of this issue could be discovered from their students. However, if he wants to increase the enrolling and the admissions applications, they have to find how is the university image among the external community, in where the future students may appear. So, in order to expand his view, he needs to extend this study to more people, especially, outside the university.

Moreover, the final recomendation does not guarrantee that an increase in enrollements can happen. He says that expand the library facilities and enhance the range of subject will atract more students. But there are other ways to do so. For example, increase the amount of scholarships or reduce the university tuiton.

To conclude, the author's argument could by improved if he extend the study of university weakness among more people and by finding more explanations. As it stands, however, the argumentation is flawed for the reasons indicated.