It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

According with the claim, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. Although this statement could present some minor strengths, there are certain arguments which prove that it is widely flawed. The main reason that support this thesis is that there are a lot of people who spend their lives serving others without asking anything, such as money or benefits. In addition, some people who are following their dreams looking for profits in a free society, are making contributions to the world, so they can be considered as heroes too. In what follows, I will explain these points and I will provide some examples to brace them. Moreover, I will show an analysis from the other side.

To begin, even in our current society, we can find people who develop an amazing work helping others. Since this people usually do not demand anything in change, we can consider them as heroes. This people are not usually seen on TV due to their low profile, but I have seen many of them working in my country. I belong to a poor country in which politicians are nothing but criminal. Fortunately, there are persons like the Fathers of the Catholic Church who helps the poor giving them food, warm bedrooms and clothes. In addition, there are another kind of hero. In a free market society, the only way that a man or a woman can be successful is through the production of excellent goods and services at lower prices. Even when some may argue that this last explanation cannot be considered as hero, it is true only if the society is not free. In that case, prices will be higher.

On the other hand, some may argue that only the war soldiers of the past can be considered as heroes. However, this argument is flawed because there are many ways in which a person can be helpful, not just in wars. For example, a president who reduces taxes and public expending will increase the domestic save and, therefore, the investment rate. Consequently, the capitalization rate will grow and so the salaries; becoming him into a modern hero.

In conclusion, it is possible to regard some living man or woman as a hero in a free society because there are people who do wonderful things in order to serve others, either they pursue a profit or not. Although there are some minor points that could challenge my thesis such as that only the soldiers of the past are truly heroes, it is not a sufficiently sound argument due to the reasons mentioned previously.