We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

The statement asserts that we usually learn more from those whose views agree with our thoughts, and not from those who disagree with us. While this could be like true in some opportunities, I consider that we can learn a lot from the people whom vision is in opposition with ours. For this reason, I disagree with the statement. In what follows, I will give my reasons.

First, hearing to the people whom speech is different from ours can give us a lot of new points of view and new ideas. Therefore, we would learn from the other side of our vision. This exercise should be done with the intention to ear the others and try to learn from they. It is important to keep apart all prejudices that could blind our mind. For instance, if I think that the inflation rate is due to anything else but monetary emission and I have to face a debate with an economist who is a specialist in monetary policy, the first thing that I have to do is ear his ideas. Then, once I check his arguments, I will have the opportunity to argue with him. If I discover that his ideas and explanations are correct, I will have to agree with him. Consequently, I will learn more, making the disagreement the way to knowledge.

Second, if we only pay attention to people whose ideas we share, we will miss the opportunity to ear new points of view, and, thus, the opportunity to increase our intelligence and knowledge will be reduced. This is especially important when our ideas are wrong. It is really necessary for every person on Earth, more if we are looking for the scientific truth, to have intellectual honesty. Such characteristic is developed only if we are open to new ideas. Because we could be in a place where our ideas and thoughts are incorrect, the only way we have to know this is seeing what the other side has to show. If we see that the person whose ideas are opposite to ours shows true arguments, we will have to change of mind due to our intellectual honesty. Suppose that a person is a strong defender of the Communist Ideas. If this person would have the chance to see all the horror that the Communism has done, he or she could change his/her mind, and this is only possible if this person is open to ear different voices.

However, there are some scenarios in which the debate with others will not be useful to learn more and better ideas. This is the case in which the debate turns into a very strong fight full of screams and insults. In such hostile environment is impossible share the ideas with the other side in peace. Consequently, we will not take any advantage from what the other side has to say. This situation is often seen in some television programs, especially in those which are dedicated to talk about politics. I have seen many such shows in which the people with clearly different opinions were arguing until the point to damage each other. When the violence appears, the opportunity to learn diminishes strongly.

To close, I think that it is really important to learn from others whose views are opposite to ours. The amount of knowledge that we can earn from the other side of our ideas has not limit. This is only possible in an environment full of peace and respect. We should be open-minded, have intellectual honesty, be respectful and accept the scientific truth if it seems, not matter from which side it comes.