A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is, without a doubt, one of the most important components of progress. According to the economist Gary Becker, 70 percent of economic development is due to human capital. Consequently, nations should give to their students the best education they can and, in doing so, freedom is key. So, requiring that all students learn the same national curriculum is counterproductive. In my opinion, goverments should not impose or even recommend the same national curriculum for every school. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the recommendation for three reasons.

First of all, all students are different. If governments want that all students learn the same national curriculum, most of them will not be able to get the best of their capabilities. Every human is intelligent but in different fields. If, for example, one students is excellent at maths and other student is excellent at music, the fact that both must study the same curriculum will not be benefical. In this case, at least two different curriculums would be necessary: one which focuses in math and other that focuses in music. In the general case, there would be many fields, each with its corresponding curriculum. So, given the possibility that every school can choose its own educational program will benefit in a better way such different students.

Moreover, it is imposible that the State knows which is the best curriculum for students. Even when the government recongnizes that every student has their own intelligencies, how can the governments know which is the best curriculum of every student in the country? The answer is: they cannot. This is due to the fact that all the information necessary to build such curriculums is spread in the market and many of it has not been created yet. Imagine a goverment in 1980 that prepared a general national curriculum that does not incorporate subjects related to informatics. The evolution of computer in the next decade should have requearied such knowled in the curriculum. Only the market can update such kind of information faster than the State because markey is more efficient.

In addition, when goverments recommend certain curriculum, they usually do that in order to impose their own potical ideas. This is cleary see in a socialist country like Argentina. In this country, the State controls all curriculums, even the private school's curriculums. Students learn things such as that the State is good, that high taxes are good or even that Social Justice is not a crime. The result of this is a society with the wrong ideas of how a good economic should be. And, because of the, the socialism always win in Argentina, increasing poverty every year. Consequently, freedom in eduacation is really important in order to stop the adoctrination in such nations and this can be reach through the elimination of the national curriculum imposed by the State.

In conclusion, of course that some general knowledge is necessary that the student learn: like history, idioms or maths. But, in order to maximize students' capabilities, it will not be convenient to impose through the state a general national curriculum. Every school should have the freedom to choose what the best subject to teach are, in order to clean education form all political influence.