The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager: "One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author's prediction tha modifying the showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve building in the complex will increase their profits is flawed. The author is assuming many unsupported assumptions when he makes his argument.

First, the author is assuming that the readings of water usage will show a reduction in the use of water. This is not necessary thue. Restricting the maximun water flow is equal to reduce the amount of water that is used per time. For example, pass from 5 cubic meters per minute to 3 cubic metters per minute. Although that this is a reduction in the mass flow rate, if the people take longer showers, the total amount of water used could increase. Let suppose that a shower lasts aprox. 3 minutes. If the former water flow was 5 cubic meters per minute, then the total amount of water used was 15 cubic meters. But, now, according to the author, is less; let's say 3 cubic meters per minute. If now the shower lasts in average 10 minutes, the total amount of water will be 30 cubic meters. So, in this example, the use of water would increase. For this reason, the author should wait for the numbers before to make a conclusion.

Second, he is assuming that will not receive complaints by the new twelve apartments just because he did not receive many complaints for the first three buildings. This is the fallacy of extrapolate the same result. They do not know actually who these new people are. What if they enjoy the high pressure from the shower? Or what is they prefer shorter showers so more pressure will be needed. He must study the likes of this people before to make the reduction of the water flow. If the clients disliked this new policy, the company would lose a lot of money when it is traying to save it.

Third, he is not considering all the different sources of money reduction that can increase the company's profit. This is known as the fallacy of what is not seen. This policy of changing the showerheads could make cause that people save more water, but if exists a non-responsable use of electricity or gas, it will not be a reduction of costs. The author have to find more ways to save money, for example, studing the consume of all services and not just water.

To conclude, the author's argument could be strenghthened his argument providing more information about the average time that a shower lasts and if it has been a change in it in with the new policy. Moreover, the author's argument could further be strenghthened is he provides more information about the customs of the rest of the clients and the use of other services such as electricity or gas. As it stands, however, the argumentation is flawed for the reasons indicated.