The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops:

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's recommendation of choosing southeastern Grilldon to be the site for the next Hobby Shop is based in weak evidence; therefore, it is flawed. The author is supporting this recommendation saying that 88 percent of the surveyed people would welcome the opening of a hobby, that the hobby bussiness has increased by 300 percent and that there are a lot of retired people who could spend their free time in hobbies. However, in order to know if this recomendation is likely to have the predicted result, three questions must be answered first.

First, Is the sample size enogh representative of the entire population? The author said that 88 percent of the conducted people of a poll of area residents are in favor of the opening of a hobby shop, but what if the people asked are just a little amount. Maybe, with a great sample size, the author could find that this number is not longer as bigger as the 88 percent. Moreover, this survey could be skewed. That is to say, perhaps the poeple asked were precisely those who like the possibity of having a hobby shop. Therefore, he or she should do an improvement of these research or give more details about it.

Secondly, Is a good thing the increase of 300 percent of the hobby business in Grilldon in the last decade? Suppose that ten years ago there was only one hobby shop in the are but now are four. These is certainly an increase of 300 percent, but only four shops is a really low number and an indicator that the hobby bussiness could not be as welcome as the author thinks. On the other hand, if the absolute number is high, that means a high competion, which is a problem if the want to atract a lot of costumers.

Third, Does the retired people of Grilldon want to spend their free time in hobby activities? The author is assuming that only because this poeple do not work and have a lot of free time, they will be clients of the HobCo Hobby Shop. But this is not neccesarily true. What if most of this retired people enjoy more traveling than the activities of the Hobby Shop. Moreover, they could enjoy to be quiet at home spending time with their grandsons rather than go out and vist these shops. This would be a complety failure and the business could end in backruptcy. The author should apply a program of marketing reasearch to find what likes these people have.

To conclude, the author needs to answer these tree questions first before to apply the recommedation. A better evaluation of the recommendation could be done if the athor provides more information about the people asked in the the survey, the real quantity of competitors in the zone and a marketing study of the retired people likes. However, as it stands, the argumentation is flawed for the reasons indicated.