Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Along history, the role that States and governments should have has been a contentious issue. While libertarians thinkers argue that the State should not participate in human actions, socialists believe that a bigger State is better for societies. One specific topic of this discussion is the recommendation that many people do in which nations who have hungried or unemployed people, should suspend all kind of art funding. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the suggestion. I will defend my thesis with three reasons.

To begin, the most important goal that governments should pursue is the elimination of poverty. That is to say, they should not spend money in superfial things like arts. Although arts are important for human development, avoid hungry and unemployment is more important. For instance, we have the case of Argentina. The socialist government of Kirchner run the country between 2003 to 2015. In those years, private jobs did not increase. The poverty rate had an averge value of 30% every year. This government increased the spending and the taxes at the largest values in all Argentinian history. However, the did not stop funding the arts. In every holiday, you could see a lot of rock bands playing in front of the government House. They used to receive a big payment from the government. This example shows that the money used to funding this band could have been used to reduce taxes and make companies to contract more employees.

Addionaly, the government should not funding the arts because arts will not flourish with the intervention of government. Take for instance the previous examples. One the priviliged musians who received goverment funding in argentina was a singer called Fito Paez. He received money just to sing the same old songs all the time. Since he had that fix amount of money, he did not have the need of sell new compositions. Therefore, he did not realease any new album along the years of funding. This explains why government funding of the arts will not help the arts at all. Also, it will not help to stop the creation of new poor people.

On the other hand, some may argue that those artist who have not the enough money to start the career as painters or as musicians should receive money from the government. Although this could be a good idea just for some time, is the country has a lot of poor or unemployed people, the first goal of the government should be help that people because a person who does not eat is a person who cannot developt his brain. Consequently, he or she will not have the chance to create art at all. This is the case of poor people in Zambia. This people have received a lot of musical instruments from the fundation of Bill and Melinda Gates. However, they are still poor and without the possibility of have good jobs which allow they to buy their food. So, although this was a good action, it have not helped this people really.

To conclude, the main problem that a government should solve is the alimentation hungried people given them the chance of good jobs. Without that, it is imposible to apply any policy which funds the arts. For the reasons mentioned, I strongly agree with the statement.