Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recomendation which asserts that the magazine should curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance is flawed. In order to know how to make this argument reasonable, the magazine company should answer some questions first. In what follow, I will mention and explain which ones.

First, the author's argument is basing his thesis on a survey who questioned readers of general interst. The author is falling in the fallacy of believe that the sample size in which this survey is based is enough representative of the entire population of readers. It is necessary to answer before if the amount of people who have participated in the survey is sufficient. Moreover, this survey is too general. A good way to enhance its quality is to focus this study only on the readers of political magazines.

Second, the author has also to answer if the decrease insales of his magazines is due to a change in the preferences of the public, who now prefer economics and personal finance issues rather than the political ones. Perhaps, for instance, the readers of Newsbeat magazine with political news on their front are seeing that the content of the maganize is poor so they have just stopped to buy it. This means that it could be additional explanations to this poor-selling.

Third, and taking into account the last sentence of the argument, there is no guarrantee that a change of subject, that is to say, change poticial issues by economics, will produce an increase in sales. What if the new articules about economics and finance are not good enough as the competition's ones. The magazine must make a revision of the quality of its economics department. They have to be very competitive if they want to success in the market.

To conclude, the argument could be strenghthened if the author provides more information about the survey or even a better study. The argument could be further strenghthened if the author can make the maganize competitive in the market of economical and financial articles. However, with such amount of question to be answered, the argument is not sound enough to apply the recomendation.