The following appeared in a business magazine:

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author's conclusion that the canned tuna did not pose a health risk is flawed. The author should answer certain questions first in order to prove if his argument could be reasonble. It what follows, I will explain three of this questions.

First, the author is sure that since it has not been found dangerous chemists in the tested cans, it will not be those chemists in the entire population of cans. This is a flawed argument given the fact that that sample could not be enogh representative of the entire population. If you do not get any fish from the sea, it does not mean that there are not fishes in it. This is the same case. The author should improve the examinations incorporing more cans in the sample. Perhaps, many untested cans are contaminated with this dangerous substancies and that could explain why some people have felt ill.

Second, he is assuming that the three chemist found in the tested cans are normal in canned foods so they are not dangerous for people. He needs to find if these few amounts of these chemists can cause some kind of illness in people. Because although they are normal to be found, he does not know if this quantities are dangerous. It is probable that even this small quatitities could have caused all the cases of dizziness and nausea that have been reported.

Third, he is assuming that there are not others causes of the dizziness and nausea presented in his customers. However, there could be another factor which explains why these people felt ill. Perhaps these tuna cans were expired. He did not mention anything about the caudusity of the cans. What if they are expired? This bad state tuna could have another chemist beside those who were tested previously. Therefore, in order to find any other cause, an improvement in the product study should be conducted.

To conclude, the author's argument could be strengthened if he asks for a greater sample to be sure that all cans are free of dangerous chemist. Furthermore, his argument could also be strengthened if he runs another test looking for another factors of illness beside those who have already been tested. However, as it stands, the argumentation is flawed for the reasons indicated.