Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts

Your task

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is well known that in many States or countries, even in the poorest ones, the government reserves money in its budget to fund the arts. This amount of money varies through the different countries. The argument to support this idea is the same socialist argument of every day: the State have to put taxes coactively under some people in order to give some services to who cannot afford that services, in this case, the access to the arts. This action is neither moral nor useful. It will not help to flourish the arts. Therefore, I strongly believe that the government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of them and hurts their essence.

To begin, the arts (music, painting, cinema, etc.), have the power to touch us in the depths of our souls. As one theatre director said, “Art has the power. It has the power to sustain, to heal, to humanize, and to change something in you. It is a frightening power, and also a beautiful power, and it is essential to a civilized society.” Which is precisely why art should be kept separate from the State. Government involves the organization of coercion. In a free society coercion should be reserved only for such essential functions of government as protecting rights and punishing criminals. People should not be forced to contribute money to artistic endeavours that they may not approve, nor should the artist be forced to trim their sails to meet government standards. For instance, suppose that I like classical music and I know people in the government of the city that also like it. In normal conditions, I must buy a ticket and go to some theatre. It is not fair to force a person who like rock music to pay taxes in order to subside classical music just because I like it and I have some lobby power.

Moreover, government funding of anything involves government control. Therefore, who plays the piper calls the tune. As a consequence, the “official” kind of art will be that which produces better political profits to politicians. For example, is the voters of some party prefer popular music rather than classical, the former will received more support than the latter, which is not a fair resolution at all.

Nevertheless, defenders of arts funding seem blithely unaware of this danger when they praise the role of the national endowments as an imprimatur or seal approval on artists and arts groups. The state cannot flourish anything, not even the arts. They have to let the people choose about their preferences and likes. We all know about the cultural disaster that the Communism was, among others issues. It is important to set the artist free from all government regulation and control. They need to be free to create and to express their mind and soul, because this is what the art is all about: expression. Take for instances the case of Fito Paez, an Argentinian singer. In the ‘90s, he did a lot of excellent albums, but when, in the first decade of the 21th century a socialist government appeared and started to fund the arts, especially to him, he did not compose a new album again. This is a clear bad consequence of that policy.

The libertarian thinkers of the past, such the American Founders for example, knew that the solution to the wars of religion was the separation of church and state. Because art is just spiritual, just meaningful, just powerful as religion, it is time to grant art the same independence and respect that religion has: the separation of art and state.