Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Your task

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue presented in which society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents is a contentious one. While some may considerer that education should be equal for all children, for example, through the same national curriculum, I consider that the education process must be the most free we can reach. Consequently, I agree partially with the recommendation. I what follows I will give my reasons.

To begin, we need to explain what we understand by society. If we considered that this society is nothing but the government which through the vote represent people's will, we could have a serious trouble. This is due to the lack of capability of a government to know what is the best for people. If, for instance, the politicians thought that only a special talent is the ability in hard science, such as maths or physics, a lot of others special talents would be forgotten. This might cause several damages in the rest of the population. In addition, this special training provided by the government would need financial aid, therefore, an unpleasant increase in taxes would be necessary.

On the other hand, if we let the market the responsibility of identify those children and then, the responsibility of training them, the situation change positively. The first responsible for their children's education are their parents. They should identify if their children have some special talent. However, in many occasions, they would not be able to do so. For this reason, I recommend that the market, which is nothing but people changing goods and services voluntarily, provides this service of identify special talents. For instance, it would be a specific department into kinder gardens and elementary schools with the aim of analyse all children with different and accurate methods. This could be done be psychologists and experts in education.

Since the knowledge is dispersed through the society, only the free interaction between human beings, in this case parents and experts in education, will reach the best results. It is impossible for the government running such kind of policy because there is no opportunity in which politicians can take all the information that we find in the market.

To conclude, I considered this recommendation as an advantageous one only if the market, in a process of free exchanges, would be the responsible to do it. These interaction should be done between parents and educational specialists in order to succeed and all government intervention should be avoided.