Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

The policy of that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed is a contetious one. While some may say that the application of this policy will allow students to reduce their probability of making a mistake when they choose thier career, I disagree with it because it is not guarranted that the educational institution will advice accordly. Moreover, this could cause a loss in student freedom. I what follows I will explain my position.

To begin, it is well known that Educational Institutions have all the infraestructure to know which students aptitudes are and how to guide them in the best direction. This direction, according to the policy, will be dissueade them from pursuing fields in which they can fail. However, there is not guarrante that this policy could be successful. For instance, in my personal case, I took a psychological test when I started my high school. According to it, my grades in maths were bad and the proffesional recomended my parents that I have troubles with maths so it would be a good choice to change my career of technician for a humanity career. However, thanks to my parent support, I was able to deal with the maths challange and I become into a nuclear engineer. This would not have been possible if I had followed the psychological test.

In addition, there is another problem with this policy which is releated with the reduction of students freedom. When someone say that you cannot follow certain career because you will not probably succeed in, he/she is restraining your free will of choose the career you want. Of course that any avise would be helpful, but it has to be taken just like a simply recomendation. Educational institutions should not do this by force. It is the student who has the final decision.

Nevertheless, I believe to that eduactional institutions have to guide the student but only in the High School. Once the student has entered to Collegue, the success is up to him or she.

To conclude, I consider that this policy could be benefical only if it did not restrain students free will by force because nobody can predict the future and nobody can know with career will be the best for a certain student without any doubts.