The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview. "It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. For these reasons, we recommend that the city eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's argument which recommens the elimination of the funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget is flawed. The author have to answer certain questions to evaluate if this recommendation could work. In what follows, I will explain them.

First, the author is saying that private contributions increased by 200 percent the last year. Although that 200 percent seems to be a great number, the truth is that it is just a relative change with respect to the previous year. If the private contributions were originally only one dollar, and then they increased to three dollars, the relative increase is 200 percent, but the absolute value is really poor. So, the author should find the absolute value rather than the relative value. This example has shown that great relative increases do not imply great absolute increases. In additon, the author is also saying that the attendance doubled, but, once againg, we do not know the real value. Having an initial amount of viewers of 10 and then pass to 20 viewers is duplicating the attendance, but 20 people is probably a low number for an concert.

Second, the author is relying that the increase in ticket prices for the next year will increase the Orchestra profits. This is a fallacy because one cannot say that an increase in prices will produce an increase in attendance. Moreover, according to the supply and demand law, an increase in price when everthing else remains constant, will produce a redunction in the demand. Consequently, if, for example, the show quality has not be enhance to find more viewers, the sales of the next year will be probably lower than those of this year. So, the author should ask if the clients would be damand the show anyway paying higher ticket prices.

Third, the author is not seeing that the people's preferences could change in the future. He is assuming that even more people will go to see the Orchestra the years to come. But he should investigate the music market and the competition. Perhaps, new rock and roll bands will appear, changing people likes. This could cause a reduction in ticket sales as well. If this happened, it would be useful to have some money put aside in the buget to deal with a black swan. Consequently, the author should do a marketing evaluation first before to stop the funding.

To conclude, the author's argumentation could be strenghthened is the author shows which are the absolute numbers of private contributions and the Orchestra's viewers. Furthermore, the argument could also be strenghthened if the author provides a better maketing and economical studies of music market in order to see if an increase in prices is profitable or not. As it stands, however, the argumentation is flawed for the reasons indicated.