The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

The understanding of how the ideas come up is one of the most important issues that the humans face, not only in the current days, but also in the past and in the future. This is due to the fact that the ideas are the engine of human actions. So, the best actions, which are those with the best ends, must need the best ideas to make the desired results. For this reasons, it seems important to know how the best ideas appears. The statement says that the best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things. While this argument may hold the true sometimes, I consider that that passionate interest in commonplace things is not enough to produce the best ideas. Consequently, I disagree with the statement.

To begin, the best ideas needs an important background of knowledge to appear. This is to say, the person who arrives to an idea needs to study, investigates and incorporates all the knowledge he can before to start thinking in solutions to any problem. We can say, therefore, that a deep knowledge in the about issue is the raw material for the best ideas. Take for instance the case of Albert Einstein. This well-known physics developed the Relativity Theory in the beginning of the 20th century. This was, of course, a great idea, one of the best of all the time in the field of science. This theory is deeply related to the understanding of light. Einstein had, indeed, a passionate interest in such commonplace thing as light is. However, this interest although was motivational, was not enough for him to arrive to his theory. He had to study a lot first. He read all the great scientific such Newton, Lorentz and Planck, among others before to arrive to his discoveries. It is true that he found inspiration in commonplace things such as light, time and space, but he would not have been successful if he had not study hard first.

In addition to knowledge, there another important factor in the discovery of ideas: the business creativity. This concept consists in pay attention to new opportunities that could appear in the market which can be useful to solve human needs. Full develop of our business creativity needs an environment of freedom with minimal or none intervention of the government. In this scenario, the best ideas, based of commonplace thing or not can be presented to us. An example which combine the business creativity and ideas based in no commonplace things is Stave Jobs’ case. He realized that it was a good idea to combine the iPod with the ability to communication and then he created the iPhone. Since this two products are really complex technological devises and their combination was a great idea, we have a probe that not all the best ideas appears form a passionate interest in commonplace thing. Of course that today such devises are quite common, but they were not at that time.

Nevertheless, we can find some examples of great ideas that have appeared from commonplace things in which just a little knowledge was needed. Take for instance the case of handle the agriculture. This idea is based on a commonplace thing such the need of eating, but the people of 10.000 years ago had none knowledge or experience in that subject. The started little by little only motivated for their interest in fulfil their basic needs.

To summarize, even when a passionate interest in commonplace things can produce good ideas, many of the best discoveries in our history needed more than passion, they needed knowledge and business creativity to success. Moreover, an environment of freedom is also necessary for the discovery of new ideas.