The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager: "One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow

Cutting corners to increase company’s performance, how classic. Sunnyside Apartments is doing all its dirty work under the name of environmental protection.

First, reducing water outlet performance is borderline legal, if it is. Without mentioning previous contracts between tenants and leasing company, I can’t safely assume functioning shower room is not listed in the contract. A judge can review the misfunctioning shower head which now only emits 1/3 of previous capacity, is in fully capable, robust operation state. Thus, rule in favor of the tenants. One party can’t single sided withdraw from a binding contract and modify something on their own interest.

Second, modification cost versus hydro bill changes may not appear as green on company’s income statement. The upfront labor and equipment for revise all shower heads is not given, and unknown, without further proof of price spikes for high intensity modification for all suites in the complex, I can’t judge how much sunk cost there will be. Then the water saved is still unknown. Like flushing a toilet, less water pressure only mean one thing, more time to fill a tank. A lesser showerhead may lead to longer shower time and unchanged water consumption. Two factors combined, not enough evidence the modification itself is profitable.

Third, the silent majority will not strike swiftly, but decisively. One month into action, only few complaints don’t mean everyone is happy. Complaining is a childish action, time consuming an no guaranteed results. Moving to a new location is definitive and serves justice and punishment. Any survey rely on passive information is selective blind in its native form. Very few complaints means an unknown amount of data source. Whether people are content with the new water flow is unknown. Combining with cost-benefit analysis, if bad shower head will lead to dissatisfaction and high vacancy rate, it won’t worth it.

Forth, profit equals revenue minuses cost. Cost side reduction doesn’t increase profit if all other factors are held constant. Without a comprehensive income-expenditure analysis, from how Sunnyside collects its income, there is just so much unknown. If Sunnyside relies heavily on selling soap, shampoo, bodywash and lotions, a less refreshing showerhead can drive all incomes to the roof. If Sunnyside is a heavily regulated, government subsidized, low-income housing support apartment, reduce service quality may mean less grant(income) next year. The author have to find more ways to save money, for example, resaching the consume of all services and not just water.

To conclude, the author's argument could be strengthened. Their argument providing more information, such as average life time that a shower lasts, and if it has been a change in alignment with the new policy. Moreover, the author's argument could further be singletoned is they provides more information about the customs of the rest of the clients and the use of other services such as electricity or gas. As it stands, however, the disagreement is flawed for the reasons indicated.