It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

The choice of heroes depict the highest virtues which the society aspires for it's citizens and in the fast pacing world, where there are is a growing population of influential people and extensive media scrutiny, it may be hard for someone to remain a hero for a long period of time but not they way in which the author mentions.

A child aspiring to be an astronaut would love to imagine himself on par with Neil Armstrong or Yuri Gagarin. But in order to relate with the present, he may like to consider the current generation of astronauts or space entreprenuers such as Elon Musk as heroes. Does this mean that the child would denounce his admiration to his hero if he comes to know about various allegations that his heroes face in their personal lives? It cannot be. There are various people whose personal life does not reflect the success in their professions such as Tiger Woods whose life has been mired with scandals and that of Robert Downey Junior who had been to rehabilitation centers more than to the studio before his commerical success in the film Iron Man. The society can still choose to pick regions of determination and hard work which can motivate their younger generations and leave the darker regions.

With various opportunities emerging in this fast pacing world, it is hard to imagine that given proper resources any person can choose not to be successful. Rise of entreprenuers such as Mark Zuckerberg, Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos have shown that there are various domains in which a person can be successful. Given such rising number of stars it is hard to choose one person as a hero eternally. But, with such various options to select from, a combination of heroes can serve the purpose of an individual or a group of people. Bill Gates and Jeff Bezos can serve as examples to those who wish to be rich and that of Musk and Zuckerberg can serve as examples to those who are extremely tech savvy.

There are certain cases where people rise to instant fame through youtube or instagram. Their success is ephemeral, but still these people have motivated many to pursue such ambitions. It is essential that the society differentiates such short lived success and discourage its members from falling into such traps.