Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through lar

The need for people to search through the internet in order to find relevant information is tedious and may discourage the person to act on it or to raise their voice because it is tiresome.

The author claims that having the ability to sort through large quantities of information to find important information can make up for the shorter attention span to which I cannot agree completely. Consider the case of a nation where some parts are seeing a social revolution and another part is battered by a storm. With a lot of information about politician, movie or sports stars and information regarding scientific innovations flowing through the media, can either of the two issues be forgotten or be left to the discretion of people? It cannot be, and both the events require adequate attention in the media in order to help raise awareness among people who are already tired after their daily schedule.

The current day media is focussed on getting better ratings and viewership. To reach their goals they tend to choose topics which are sensational and ignore certain regions which they feel might not help them reach their goals. In India, the national media seldom covers details about floods in north-eastern states and are left for scrolling which needs a magnifying glass to look for. Only when people of those communities raise campaigns to fund the people affected through social media the real damage is known. Given that the abundance of information helps people address real issues which could have been engulfed by some sensational information making rounds.

The current technology has enabled the growth of media and has ensured that no important event is left out from coverage. But without being constantly reminded and discussed it is hard for people to notice the importance of an event after going through a mountain of information daily