The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

A machine that can lift a hundred elephants or a computer that can perform trillions of calculations in a fraction of a second need a human being to provide them their purpose.

In the recent past human beings have developed machines that can defeat a chess grandmaster, can model the behavior of a cyclone and predict its motion and many more. Indeed a human being can never surpass their muscle power, but can these machines serve any purpose without human instruction? They cannot. The chess playing machine Deep Blue which defeated Gary Kasparov was trained by other grandmasters and its decision-making ability was specified by some human being. The supercomputers which predict the path of the cyclone may provide convincing data but it is for a human being to take a decision.

The same rise in technology has also been deleterious to people in low skilled jobs, where automation has started to replace them. This concern raises the question, can machines surpass human beings? To which I feel there is no substantive evidence because technological advances have brought new professions into the picture. A student of the early 2000 era who is an android developer, would have never imagined such a job in his college time. Every time something new came into the market, people started to absorb it and started to figure out use cases which the inventors themselves would not have imagined. This clearly supports the fact that the human mind is superior.

There are a few cases that can say otherwise. Recent trends in artificial intelligence present solutions that can surpass human beings in identifying objects and classifying them. Some of these machines have learned to solve problems in ways which were not imagined such as Deep Mind's AlphaGO, which defeated the world champion of GO. It is possible for machines to surpass the human mind in certain fields.

Human beings have developed machines that can help overcome their limitations and solve problems which may not finish within their lifetime, and the immense muscle power possessed by these machines can replace few less skilled jobs, but with persistence and the keenness to learn, human beings can find ways to make machines work for them which is in agreement with the author's view.