"Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society."Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alig

Without teaching basic morality, a logic driven life cannot produce a moral society.

Being kind and caring is necessary and no human being can learn this on their own. Such as, a child cannot learn to be kind or caring to their siblings or their friends without their parents teaching them because, the child cannot reason about sharing chocolate or not harming the people around them through logic. Similarly, a person who has committed a crime may not be moral but can be logical in their justification because people in distress or in dire conditions will prefer to go the wrong way to ensure their survival.

Looking back at history, we can find numerous cases such as Adolf Hitler. Hitler in his youth had gone through various difficulties and has been influenced by anti-semitic propaganda. On top of it, the massive defeat of Germany in the first world war and it's economic downturn made him believe that the Jewish community was responsible for all the misery faced by Germans. If we were to give credence to logical reasoning, Hilter can be considered right in few points. But had he given morality the precedence, the Holocaust would have never occurred. Radical groups in the middle east have destroyed nations in the last decade. The current leaders and the followers of such organizations were brainwashed and were trained to believe that their cause is correct. Which shows that their morality was stripped off and they were given the logical reason to do what they do. There have been cases in the second world war where the Generals of axis forces were given orders to execute the captured enemy soldiers but, some of them chose not to by giving precedence to their morality.

There are a few cases such as legal proceedings, where logic needs to be given precedence. Because convicting a criminal who is the sole bread earner of a family may seem immoral or using violence to obtain secrets from spies or traitors may seem immoral but, inaction can be harmful to the society in such cases.