A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

In the argument presented here, the author seems to have covered a major portion about the investigation done on recalled pet food and claims that the food company need not investigate further because chemicals present are all approved and cannot be the cause for the symptoms. But on closer examination, one can find that the author has forgotten to consider various reasons and the evidence is insufficient.

The major factor that this investigation ignores is the time. The author claims that the company had tested the samples and has evaluated all the chemicals that were present in the recalled batches, does that mean that the batch of food items that caused the symptoms would show the same results? Assuming that the chemical found would be the same in both batches, this does not convey anything about the chemical composition and it is possible that the defective batches had a nonideal chemical composition.

One of the major features of packaged food is it's packaging itself. Many fried items are sold in large puffed packets that contain nitrogen gas to avoid microbial damage. There is a possibility that the packaging could have been damaged in the process of manufacturing or in transit. Since there is no mention of the level of human intervention in the process of manufacturing, an ill factory worker could have spread his illness and contaminated the batch. This could mean that the quality control process of the company is to be doubted and without clearly studying the quality control practices followed, the author cannot support his claim.

Assuming that the quality controls and the chemical composition remain unaltered, there is a chance that these pets could have had a reaction which could be caused by the food ingredients compounded by the surrounding weather. Without analyzing the medical reports of these pets, the author cannot vindicate the food company of blame.

In summary, the author has ignored various time-related factors and his conclusion is not satisfactory.