A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

The explanation provided to the observed behaviour of birth order on the individual levels of stimulation does not look convincing nor does the amount of study done on the rhesus monkeys seems adequate.

The author posits that the birth order and the individual levels of stimulation are related to each other based on the observation that the firstborn infant mokeys produce upto twice the levels of hormone called cortisol. By stating this the author leaves space for another explanation such as, the high amounts of cortisol levels are only observed in the first born infants because, no where in the argument presented the author compares the cortisol levels of second born with the thrid born and so on.

The author also mentions that the level of cortisol is an indication of levels of stimulation, for which there is no evidence to back it which in case of the rhesus monkeys if they encounter an unfamiliar monkey they might have shows responses that can be tied to their surivival instinct and there could be various other hormones that could have triggered at that moment. The argument extrapolates the explanation to human beings in a vague sense. By comparing the rise in cortisol levels of a first born human to that of a first born monkey where in the former it is due to a reaction of longing for the parent and the latter is a reaction to hostility faced.

Assuming that cortisol is a clear indicator for levels of stimulation and the levels of stimulation is different over the siblings, there still exists a doubt. With the limited number of subjects which have been taken for study, genetic mutation can serve as an aternative explanation to the observed behaviour. The author also mentions about the levels of cortisol in first-time mother monkeys, which does not provide any support to the difference in stimulation from one offspring to another. This observation may serve to explain the initial level of awareness and higher degree of responsibility taken by first-time mothers that can be observed within humans around us.

The points provided can serve as an explanation to numerous other scenarios or possibilities and hence the conclusion drawn by the author cannot be the only one.