The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting

In the argument presented here the author provides two examples which are being used by the opposing groups of Maple County about the effects of the proposed measures. Scrutinizing it further we see that the prediction is biased and improperly formed.

The council is concerned that limiting the growth of residential areas will result in a significant rise in housing prices. But the major factor behind price rise is demand. When the council takes the example of Pine County, they forget to inquire if the county is located near an industrial area and if there was scope for further expansion or not. If so, it can be expected that the area will see a rising demand. The council must study the effects of geographic locations on the real estate prices to predict better.

Demand can be satisfied by adding new housing projects and if there is scope to add them around Maple county, there is a chance that the price may not increase at a rate beyond the average rate of inflation. Chestnut county which was being used by the opposing group may have faced a modest price rise due to any of the above mentioned reasons.In 2008 crash there was a drop in real estate prices and some of the property were sold at less than half their price of purchase. If there was such an economic crisis in the country over the last 10 years, it could be possible that the area around Pine county had better scope in developing economically over Chestnut, people would prefer to spend their money in places which can be profitable. The council must further study the economic growth around their area to predict better.

Assuming that the economic situation is similar everywhere, 15 years is a long period and an annual growth of 5 to 6 percent is sufficient to double the price and without comparing the actual price rise that Chestnut and Pine saw, it is hard to say that both the examples are opposing and may prove the predictions of the council incorrect.

In conclusion the council has ommitted or neglected various economic and geographic factors in their study and the facts presented cannot support the predcition.