41)Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Mahatma Gandhi quoted that there are enough resources to satisfy the needs of all human beings but not to satisfy even a single person's greed. The first thing we must all note is that we are a product of biological evolution which took billions of years and every living entity on this planet has an equal right on it's home. It is indeed true that the basic necessities for human beings must be catered to, but not at the cost of destroying our environment and it is important to save the land for endangered species.

Endangered species such as Tigers, Lions, and other carnivores keep a check on the population of various herbivores which is essential to maintain a healthy plant population within the forests. Over millions of years of evolution, plants have grown to develop a symbiotic relationship with various animal species to proliferate. The presence of various such species is dependent on other species in their ecosystem. If these animal species go extinct, we are at great risk of losing a large number of plant species. Considering the huge potential of plant-based medicine and the large numbers of plant species that are yet to be discovered and studied, it is in our benefit to keep this relationship sustained.

Over the past few decades, innovations in the field of biotechnology and genetics have brought in a variety of seeds which are tolerant to pests and can grow with limited water supply. People in the Netherlands and Japan have developed farming techniques which doesn't require soil. Looking at this trend, the need for large pieces of agricultural land and large scale irrigation project which often threaten wildlife and forest regions may go out of fashion. Industries which are the backbone of an economy are going through large scale automation and they require minimal human intervention meaning, they can be setup in places previously considered inhabitable without the need to clear forests. Effective policies can be useful in building sustainable housing.

The ecological balance which is essential for our existence cannot be tampered and there are solutions to address the issues mentioned in the paragraph without harming our environment.