Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Problems in our society should be highlighted to common people or brought to their attention through proper means of investigation or through a legal form of protest and not through scandals which can be detrimental to the image of the person accused and to the society before a proper study of truths.

In various democracies people are entitled to obtain information about the financial or clerical details of organizations in public domain and of governing bodies. Given such unfettered access, incidents of corruption can be determined through a legal process and the culprits can be brought to justice. To avoid this legal process and to get instant fame, some organizations specially media groups tend to use backdoor methods to get access to paperwork and vaunt about their work. Such event can also reveal confidential data that can risk the security of a nation. One such example in the Rafale fighter jet deal which is making rounds in Indian media outlets. The government argues that the documents reveal sensitive data that can put the country at risk and weaken the defence preparedness.

Some scandals which come out do not plumb the details of the case they are handling and drive improper conclusions. The ruckus created by their presenters can be detrimental to the image of the people under scrutiny. Consider a case where a video containing the leader of a nation making sensational comments about a community or their previous work, can make rounds across the social media within no time. Without proper evidence to determine the truth of such statements, the image of the leader can get tarnished beyond repair. A similar case was a morphed video generated by a sophisticated software shows president Barack Obama talking ill about Muslim community. The researchers involved in the the development have raised concerns about the impact of their work if it lands in wrong hands too.

But there are cases where scandals have enabled a common man to raise their voice where they cannot speak or voice their opinions freely. Once such example is the release of video tapes of few religious figures in India who have trapped their women devotees and use them to satisfy their sexual desires. This brought our severe outrage and has paved the way for people to challenge the atrocities of such religious figures, whom the authoritis feared to touch.

Given that the current news outlets are busy finding sensational information to improve their channel ratings, supporting such investigations can be detirmental to the society's morale and image.