Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall stu

The argument presented here takes up a key observation but does not study clearly it's implications. It provides a conclusion which cannot be supported by the evidence presented here.

It is essential for students to provide feedback on the classroom teaching and also on the behaviour of the lecturers in the class room to develop a conducive environment. When the author mentions that the grades have risen because the professors of Omega university are providing higher grades, he forgets to discuss about the change in the quality of class room teaching which could have helped in students doing better in examinations.

The author mentions about the beliefs or thoughts of the potential employers who feel that the grades are inflated. Linking this to the success rate of getting job offers is not adequate because, the students of Omega university may lack communication skills or their syllabus may not be adequate to match the competitiveness of the students from Alpha university which could be the key reason and it needs to be addressed immediately. Since,the author does not mention about the decrease in success rate of placements, it raises a question, did the percentage of students getting placed improve over the previous year? If it did this can invalidate the reason cited to end the feedback system mentioned.

The argument forgets to mention anything about the toughness of question papers that were set post this feedback system got established. Meaning that the professors could have lower the standards of the examinations to meet the goals of achieving a positive feedback. But this is a major flaw which needs to be addressed and it looks analogous to reducing the hospital bill but not improving the standards of treatment or the hospital.

Majorly,the study ignores the need to improve the standard of teaching and the quality of syllabus the professors and given the lack of convincing evidence linking the role of evaluation mechanism supporting the drop in quality of students, the conclusion to withdraw the evaluation mechanism cannot be the taken based on the evidence presented.