No field of study can advance significantly unless outsiders bring their knowledge and experience to that field of study.

When conventional wisdom fails, it is important to look at a problem from a different perspective. Only with the knowledge from different fields or work can help advance the current field of study.

In any crime scene, the first thing the police try to collect are fingerprints which can eventually lead them to find the perpetrators or possible suspects and witnesses. Going back in time for just 30 years, this approach would seem fruitless because, the technology was not adequate to find matching finger prints from the database within a stipulated time and the investigators would take years to reach a conclusion. This is a clear indication that when the conventional investigation wisdom was not sufficient, the technological advancements in processing speed and database search techniques played a pivotal role.

Before, Rutherford and Bohr confirmed the existence of an atom, the field of chemistry and physics followed seperate paths. Chemists would risk to the level of burning their laboratories just to calculate the heat produced from a reaction, before computational chemistry came into existence. Supercomputers are used by physicists to simulate the behaviour of black holes and their impact on space and time, without the need for a human being to take up the required apparatus near a black hole; which could have taken centuries for a human to reach while moving at the speed of light. Laser beams which were prophesised to be used as killer beams are also used to generate controlled environments that can isolate a single atom. Such is the inter dependency of each and every field in each other's work. To cite another example, consider a researcher studying the behaviour of students in an impoverished region such as slums or those living near dumpyards, a painting of the scenary showing mountains of garbage instead of greenery can reveal their mental state and even their aspirations, which may not be revealed from direct questioning of these children.

Given that there is a huge dependency on other fields, there are few events that say otherwise. Such as, the development of the first microprocessor by Intel, where the challenge was to group the functions of various chips into one. There is no sign of knowledge or experience from other fields apart from computer engineering, that these engineers had to incorporate.

With the rapid changes in technology, lifestyle and a growing cosmopolitan culture, it is necessary for researchers of a particular field of study to look at a problem from a different perspective by using the knowledge and experience from other field to advance in their fields of study.