On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

The argument presented here does not perform an apple to apple comparison between Balmer Island and Seaville and it seems to be built upon data which is inadequate to explain the cause for reduction of accidents in Seaville nor sufficient to explain how this can be applicable or useful to Balmer Island.

It is highly noble of the council to take such precautionary measures, but neither the decision of the council nor their explanation seems to address one of the possible cases such as, drunken driving. A major part of the accidents that take place can be attributed to the negligence of an inebriated driver or a pedestrian. As per the argument the population increases to the number specified which means that at a many points in time the city has a hundred thousand using it's streets and there could be a large number of them using private vehicles. Meaning, one dizzy driver using a car can harm many at a given time. Without addressing the issue of drunken driving, any measures to reduce the flow of vehicles on the road would be grossly inadequate.

The argument mentions that reducing the number of mopeds that could be rented per day would reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The question arises, can the moped drivers be completely attributed to these accidents or is it due to lack of proper infrastructure such as foot paths or seperate lane for mopeds and bicycles? It is also possible that the mopeds that are being issued in Balmer Island are not in proper condition such as having loose breaks, damaged handles or frame. In order to extrapolate the results from Seaville, the argument should provide details that can compare the quality of mopeds issued along with the infrastructure that is present in both places.

Assuming that both the places have adequate infrastructure and governance, the argument does not mention clearly that both these towns experience a similar population in summer meaning that the number of people in Seaville could be much lesser than Balmer Island. Next when comparing both the places, the argument should mention the ratio of private vehicles to that of mopeds used during summer to comapre the traffic scenario in both places. It is possible that the reduction of mopeds issued can motivate people to bring in the private transport which may further increase the number of accidents insread of redcuing them.

The suggestion made in the argument is not backed properly by the evidence provided and the basis on which the extrapolation is being done is dubious. Hence the recommendation provided may not provide the predicted result.