The following appeared as part of a recommendation from the financial planning office to the administration of Fern Valley University quot In the past few years Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applic

Fern Valley is facing a decline in number of enrollments, this according according to the assumption is due to negative reviews by currently enrolled students that crticise the institutes poor teaching and library facility. As a solution to this the university came forward with an alumni fund raising campaign that could expand the range of subjects taught and aid library facilities.

There however is a mismatch - the campaign would focus on expanding range of subjects but the issue however lies in the teaching method or in teachers. Adding advanced subjects with inexperienced faculty might lead to even greater issue. It could be a case where with adequate funds the institute might be able to hire teachers with better portfolio and work experience but this might not be the ultimate solution.

Alumni who are masters in their respective fields could also participate as guest lecturers - this could be an add-on to the campaign. Many with their personal experience with teaching in the college would be able to give personal suggestions to college faculty. Alumni consists of the passed out students who might be in working class, pursuing higher studies, entrepreneurs etc. This could provide a practical judgement related to suggestions on course review even though it was not a part of the problem expressed by students.

For Library Facilities, with alumni funding campaign the university could also start the donation services where each alumni would be able to donate their study material to the college library. Improvement of library would majorly rely on the amount generated. Encouraging donation of both books and money and making e-books available could be an overall solution for this issue.

Alumni can hence help with their economy and experience altogether.

Both of the mentioned could be solved to major extent with modifying the campaign as specified earlier but the question lies in ensuring enough collection of funds for both. With many alumni out of reach, some still studying and many still struggling in the industry as freshly graduate the possibility of generating enough funds only via them might be a challenge. We could expand the nature of campaign here - we could aid from alumni and there contacts both. Attract them with schemes like allowing many alumni-based startups to recruit potential employees on campus etc. Conduct reunion and reconnects frequently.

To sum up - the argument provided by Fern Valley could be the solution but needs to consider many factors. They could use the potential benefits from alumni and maintain this for years to come which ensures better educational facilities and additional benefits for its students even after graduating.