The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument in the given passage is that UltraClean should be supplied at every hand-washing point, at all of the hospitals to reduce patient infections. Before suggesting the prompt the speaker has addressed a series of experiments and reasoning.

To begin with, the laboratory has conducted an experiment on concentrated solution of UltraClean. It states that the results are 40% better than the currently in use liquid hand soaps. This is a proof of conduct, that how the new version of antibacterial liquid soap is comparatively better than the current ones in use. One factor missing in this laboratory based evidence is it's support for other deciding factors - is the hand soap harsh on hands? Will it lead to any allergic reactions? Safety and skin reactions are not mentioned as a part of experiment for UitraClean concentrated hand wash.

Next, as a practical evidence the speaker has provided another instance. Here, after lab testing's the UltraClean was installed at one of the hospitals. Apparently, the hospital noted a significant plummet in number of patient infection than compared to any other hospital in the entire group. Now this could be a little bit of tacky proof, since no direct relation between how the hand soap use has affected infections is given. Installation of UltraClean 'could' be one of the reason for the drop. We can't ignore the facts like - locality of the hospital, in general infection trends around, cleanliness measures which the staff undertakes, etc. which also affect the patient infection level. If the aforementioned factors are same in all of the other hospitals then this reason prove as a ground stating fact for UltraClean.

To sum it up, the speaker has provided with two series of reasoning to support the final suggestion. As discussed above, every situation has it's own pros and cons. Overall, speaker's understanding seems to be concluded on proofs and facts and can hardly be classified as assumption but it still misses out on some important affecting factors which should be considered as well. Only then the hospitals should go ahead with the application of UltraClean antibacterial hand soaps at every hand washing station, to reduce patient infection and provide better treatment and hygiene services.