Last year PrepUp had record enrollment in their test prep courses but yearly profits fellby nearly 30 percent To the contrary TopPreparation had comparable enrollment to the year before with profits rising by approximately 20 percent This discrepancy

There are two situations to compare with - first let's talk about Toppreparations: there wasn't a significant rise in their enrollment numbers but gained increased 20% profit. On the other hand Prep classes even after having record enrollment suffered a of 30% loss in profits. The difference which these institutes share lies in their teaching medium. While the later was more focused in live, in person teaching - TopPreparations shifted almost majority of their student to online medium.

As a solution to there increasing economical issue, Prep classes would be converting their teaching method to online. This by analogy could be best fir solution.

While offline classes require amenities and greater investments, online classes serve comparatively equal output. The cost for classrooms, electricity, security etc. could be eliminated. Increasing technology has enabled teachers to provide classroom like environment to students using online classes. So there would be no drop in teaching quality for Prep institute even if they are shifting from in-person lectures.

After the recent pandemic, there is a significant change in our life styles. The solution which prep classes came up is very much in tandem with this change. People are shifting towards virtual practices more than they were in the past. TopPreparations adapted to these changes and provided both modes as a option to it's users. If the fees for both those courses (online and offline) was same, then they saved a lot on offline requirements and still provided the same quality of course to their students.

For Prep classes, with increase in enrollment the cost to manage offline classes and making arrangements for the same would have resulted in economic strain. In online mode they could considerably reduce the fees to increase student intake while maintaining their respective profit margin and stand against their market coompetitors.

One important point which is missing in the given argument is whether both Prep or TopPreparation were charging same fees from the students? this could also be one of the profit affecting factor.

To sum up the argument, I feel the decision to convert classes into online medium could be a boost for Prep institute.