“The following was used as part of an internet advertising company’s appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year’s totals. Furniture Depot’s success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. ”

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument’s conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The mentioned argument states an advertisement by some internet advertising company's campaign to encourage more businesses to hire them. The advertisement stated that- since Furniture Depot has hired them, they have observed a net increase of 10% in their annual sales. As we look into the argument by advertising company we get to know that their statement has many unwarranted assumption.

Firstly, there has been no mention of any numbers or statistics related to the ratio of general buyers and new consumers. There should have been enough proof regarding the claim that the increase in sales was a direct consequence of Furniture Depot's decision to hire them. With the lack of credibility here, one could easily assume that the increase in sales could have been based on other factors as well. They should have provided with analytics of how new consumers were attracted to buy Furniture Depot's products through their advertising campaign.

The second point, there is no mention of reachability. This is an important aspect of product marketing. Even if the increase in sales for Furniture Depot was to be attributed to the online advertisement, it may be due to the fact that it fortuitously interested the people who viewed it on large scale. The advertising company should have buttressed the point that they provide reachability to targeted audience customized for different products and services.

The last important factor which is missing would be comparison with existing advertising systems or services and salient features of this specific online advertising. In the competitive world out there, it is important to answer unasked questions like - Is this campaigning system most economical? Most effective ? Is it comparatively better result yielding? etc.

To sum up the argument, the appeal posted by online advertising company was a plethora of unjustified reasons to hire them. they should come forward with more robust and attractive appeal with promising benefits of hiring them.