“Regulators and policymakers should respond to potential environmental threats even before the information is fully known or concrete.”

How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

The given prompt suggests that - the regulators and policymakers, based on unsure possibilities of future environmental threat, should start implementing solutions immediately as soon as it's existence is known. I agree with the speaker here.

'Prevention is better than cure' is the most apt explanation for this. It is always better to be safe than sorry. A potential environmental threat could posses greater threats than the work needed to prevent it. In general, every natural imbalance was just a theory at beginning, the ignorance towards the subject has resulted it to either be unpreventable or a major existential crisis.

The second most important point here would be - it takes a lot of effort to reverse an imbalance than the effort needed to prevent it at first. An example of this could be the integrity of 'non-decomposable' plastic in human lives. If in few years after it's invention, people would have raised awareness regarding the ill-effects it creates in the society it would have been easier to find alternatives soon and we could have been plastic free. It is difficult to change human habits if they slowly inculcate in their lifestyles.

Regulators and policymakers should always consider these potential environmental threats, today it is easier to get correct predictions and insights with development of real time prediction models. A boon in computer technology, AI could be used to solidify actions against potential threats by giving insights about the future.

To sum it up, it is always better to respond to possible environmental threats now, than to leave it as a burden for our posterity. Every environmental threat now, was a potential threat back in years. As a duty the decision makers should not wait for effects to confirm it, rather prevent it when it is budding.