Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How can a person be truly educated? Some may say that is important to receive the most varied education when we are in the University. I considerer that is not possible for a person to know all science on Earth. However, I believe that is important to study some subjects beside those which are inside of the major field, but not a variety of them. For this reason, I partially disagree with the statement. In what follows, I will state my reasons.

To begin, it is really important for a professional to study all the subjects that matter for his major field. It is well known that any career has to be finished in a limited amount of years (no more than five years for a undergraduate degree). Consequently, if the University put more courses outside of the intented major, the student will have to study more years or study more in the same time. This will cause that students loss specificity in their career. For instance, what does a med student do with some knowledge in geology? It is not correct to mix subjects of very different careers to form an eclectic one.

In addition, the main focus of a career is to form students with a deep knowledge in their corresponding major. Professionals must know all they can related to their carrers. This is the based of the division of work. It is not possible for a human being to know all sciences. It is truth that we have some cases in history who show the opposite. For instance, Leonardo Da Vince or Plato were people with knowledge in many areas, but they are just especial person. The normal thing is that one person has only one or two degrees and then the must demand for the rest in the maket, changing his knowledge in exchange of other's. For example, a doctor won't build his own house. He will contract some architect instead.

However, in some major fields some additional courses can be requiared additional to those which are specific for the career. For instance, in Nuclear Engineering the students must pass a course of economics. This is because the deep relationship between engineering and economics. In any engineering project, an economic study must be donde. Moreover, the 30% of MBA students are ingineers who want to increase their knowledge in business. This ilustrates that if a student want to increase his knowled, a perfect thing is to do a graduate degree in other related field, such a PhD or a Masters degree.

To conclude, requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study could be a good idea only if these courses are related to the major. However, add courses for no reason could be counter-productive, making a loss in the professional quality. None can be educated in all sciences, but through doing some graduate degree, student can expand their knowledge.