The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the statement, it is being asserted that the greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries. however, I found this argument is an over-generalization and it is tenuous in several aspects.

there is no deny that some of the greatness of individuals are recognized and acknowledged by the descendants. For example, Copernicus, one of the greatest scientist throughout the history, had defied the orthodoxy geocentric theory at his time and suggested heliocentric theory which states that sun is the centre of the universe instead of planet earth. His theory was rejected by majority of the people at that time because many of the religious factors were hindering people to accept ideas that contradicts what their belief is advocating. And unfortunately, the geocentric theory was proved credential after a long time of his death.

however, it is unfair to claim that one’s glory cannot be decided by their contemporaries with hundred percent certainty. In the field of physiology, an example could be Youyou Tu. By cooperating extremely well with her team, she had successfully discovered the way to treat malaria, which her invention has saved and is continue to save millions of life. this huge contribution to human development was appreciated by people in the contemporary society and she was awarded with the Noble prize in the category of physiology. Madam Curie, one the most well-known scientists, dedicated almost nine years the refinement of radium. Her perseverance was highly praised by the people at her time but also created a positive model for the younger generations. As a form of acknowledgement from her contemporaries for her great achievement, she was the laureate of the Nobel prize in the science field. Nowadays, there are a number of award that is design to identify the outstanding creation in modern society and to thank those illumines’ devotion of their time and energy to make human society greater.

In sum, in the past, one’s greatness might be impeded by various factors to be recognized by the people at the same time period, whereas now, individuals who has made great contribution will definitely receive attentions and appreciations from contemporaries.