'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the statement, the speaker asserts that restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to attract more viewers and to prevent any further loss in advertising revenues. To bolster this, the speaker cites that many reviewers complaint about the over-coverage of national news and that some businesses canceled their contracts with the television station. however, the statement is unjustifible in several aspects.

The author mentions that, most of the complaints received from viewers were about the reduced content about weather and local news. however, one of the major problem is that the speaker has provided no concrete evidence about the number of complaints. What exactly does the word "most" refer to? also, are those responses able to represent the opinions of general public. it is possible that the business manager only asked about the opinions from the television station's employees since a national-survey will be extremely hard and costly to conduct. Therefore, before making any conclusion, the evidence to proof the representativeness and reliability of the viewers' opinions should be collected.

it is unfair to make any conclusion based on the data collected from the past. The manager ignores that there are many factors that might contribute to a change in viewers opinions. We cannot exclude the possibility that, this year, there is a sudden increase in viewers for national news. The manager also neglect the existnece of other competitiors. it is also possible that a lot of the viewers are highly interested in the new programs created by other television stations. thus, it is unsubstaintiated to assume that the reduction in time for national news will attract more viewers.

it is also pointed out by the manager that the devotion to national news has led local businesses to break their contracts with the station. Nevertheless, there is a possibility that those businesses canceled their contracts for other reasons. perhaps, those businesses have found another station that cost less for them to advertise their products. Or perhaps, the time length provided for each advertisement is too short that engender lots of complaints from the local businesses. thus, before showing evidence that can rule out all possibilities mentioned above, it is unfaire to assume that those business will maintain their contracts with the station.