The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the argument, the speaker states that the well-being of a society is strengthened when a great portion of its people doubt authority. In my opinion, even though a single person’s revolt to the authority could also have a positive influence, more people certainly generate more power, thus always lead to a more effective and larger-scale improvement of humans’ well-being when more people are questioning the authority.

Looking back through the history of scientific field, when people’s ability to investigate various things were still limited, there were many luminous who worked as a single force to question the authority and had made contribution to the well-being of human society. For example, Copernicus, one of the great scientists, refused the orthodoxy idea of his time which believed that the Earth was the centre of the universe. His objection to the geocentric theory and the creation of heliocentric theory have definitely increased human being’s understanding towards the universe and our living environment. However, in recent society, because of the rapidly advancing technology allows scientists to obtain larger amount of and more accurate data before coming to a conclusion, almost all of the authorities in modern society that have established are irrefutable and highly credential. thus when a single voice stands up and come to question the authority will be mostly ignored by the community.

Nevertheless, the case is different when group of people advocate against the mainstream.

back to days, gays and lesbians were being treated as freaks, abnormals. there was a group of art students who painted art pieces related to the theme of homosexuals and the government provided great amount of subsidy to them as a way to constrain their freedom to paint any kinds of works that expresses those ‘heterodoxy’ thoughts and believes that might influence the society. In recent years, to counter the thought of heterosexual as the only normal kind of identifications, large-scale parades had taken place in a great number of countries for supporting homosexual. As a positive result, modern people started to respect each person’s distinctive choice for his or her mate’s sex and an increasing number of countries has begin to legalize marriages between same sex. Absolutely, as an achievement of many people against the authority, the well-being of the society had experienced a great leap by providing human the right to pursue their happiness among same sex, which might seem absurd in the past.

In sum, the speaker’s argument is reasonable. when the majority of people are questioning the authority, it is implicitly showing that the authority is tenuous and thus by revising it, the well-being of a society will certainly be enhanced.